Those Who Hold To The World And Those Who Hold On To The Hereafter

The worth of every man is judged by what he seeks. None can put a value to one who seeks Allâh for this is immeasurable. The one who seeks after this world is too lowly to be valued. Shiblî said: “Whoever holds fast to this world will be burned by its blaze until he becomes ashes blown about by the wind. Whoever holds on to the Hereafter will be burned by its light such that he becomes pure gold of the highest quality and is benefitted from. Whoever holds on to Allâh will be burned by the light of Tawhîd and will become a jewel that is beyond value.”

He has ambitions, the greatest of which is illimitable;
The last of which time itself finds untouchable.

Ash-Shiblî was asked: “Will the lover ever gain satisfaction form something from his Beloved before witnessing Him?” He replied with the following couplets:

By Allâh! Were You to crown me
With the crown of Chosroes, king of the orient,
And before me the wealth of creation present –
The wealth of those today and those of old –
“But we shall not meet for a time,” I am told
To our meeting, My Master, would I gladly assent!

Whoever’s ambition is great will only be content with seeking Allâh, Glorious and Exalted is He.

My every journey to and fro,
Morning and evening –
And so too, remembrance of You
– is my very breath if life,
A refreshing breeze and soothing quietude.
You are my ambition and my lot,
My objective and my success.
O source of my succour and refuge
Keep me guided aright and correct me.

By Imâm ibn Rajab al-Hanbalî [d.795H]
The Journey to Allâh, Pgs. 79-80

Leave a Reply

